• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Delete Bidirectional many to one Entities

Ranch Hand
Spring AngularJS Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi

I am new to Hibernate and I am currently working on it. I have 2 tables an employee and a person table. The tables are related as shown below:

Employee.java

Person.java

Since orphanRemoval is true, I know that if a person record is deleted, the employee record will be deleted. But what will happen if I delete a employee record?

When I try to delete an employee record nothing is happening. There are no errors no exceptions and the employee record also doesn't remove. What I am trying to do here is, if I delete a Employee record, the concerned Person record should also be deleted. I don't have the option of deleting person record, so I am deleting employee record. I am breaking my head over this issue for past 3 days Please help me.

Rancher
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Your Person has many Employees.
If that is not a modelling error (should it be a One-to-One?), then why should the removal of a single Employee out of a possible several imply the removal of the Person as a whole (including all other Employee rows associated with it)?

Sheriff
Hibernate jQuery Eclipse IDE Spring MySQL Database AngularJS Tomcat Server Chrome Java