• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Amazon web services-running EC2 instance via java program using AWS APIs

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I am new to java programming and I have been trying to start an aws EC2 instance using a java program that i have written using help from various websites, but I can't seem to succeed after 2 days of trying.

here is my java code

and when i run the program i get this in my console

Exception in thread "main" java.lang.NullPointerException at com.amazonaws.http.HttpClientFactory.createHttpClient(HttpClientFactory.java:92) at com.amazonaws.http.AmazonHttpClient.(AmazonHttpClient.java:200) at com.amazonaws.AmazonWebServiceClient.(AmazonWebServiceClient.java:129) at com.amazonaws.services.ec2.AmazonEC2Client.(AmazonEC2Client.java:196) at com.amazonaws.services.ec2.AmazonEC2Client.(AmazonEC2Client.java:173) at com.amazonaws.services.ec2.AmazonEC2Client.(AmazonEC2Client.java:101) at com.amazonaws.services.ec2.model.StartInstancesRequest.main(StartInstancesRequest.java:25)

Can anyone help me? Am I writing the code right??

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies

AmazonEC2Client ec2 = new AmazonEC2Client(credentials);

Am I right supposing that "credentials" here are null - it looks like you never initialize them?

Marshal