• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

15 years of non-progressive experience with Java and .Net - Advise on next steps

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi Anthony,
Congratulations for coming out with a useful book for Java Fraternity.

I am a Tech lead with 10 years of experience in Industry. Have a peculiar sub-ordinate who need advise on charting out his career - He is 15 years experienced on Java & .Net, Lotus Domino, and few Scripting languages including REXX. Thing is , he has got non-progressive career, since he has not got opportunities to work on New projects i.e., from the scratch coding, and always has been on Maintenance type of works and lacks motivation in knowing concepts beyond his job demands. So has never taken any training, nor learnt anything on own, nor had done any certifications. I am supposed to be his mentor, and help him chart out his next steps towards scaling up on Java technologies. I had asked him small exercises to code, which he finishes not by thinking on own but only googling and copying pasting. He will only come out with functional code that works, but is not efficient by performance, does not confirm to module design. Point is he does'nt read and learn, nor understand best practices and I see myself wasting a lot of time in making him understand