• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Changing a boolean value within an arraylist with user input

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all,

First of all, I would like to say I'm a total beginner so please bear with me. And thanks for your help in advance!

I have set up a book object and library object. I have been able to accept user input using the scanner and add books to the arraylist:

That's the adding part not including the scanner stuff.

This is my arraylist:

Basically I need the user to select the book they want to loan out and then change the onLoan boolean to true (I have used a menu system for the user to choose different options).
I have created a loanBook() method but am not really sure where to start.

This is what my menu looks like:

And this is the code I used for it (I am unsure whether to use if statements or switch cases):

All help is appreciated, thanks again!

Marshal
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Welcome to the Ranch

That sort of menu looks to me like a good candidate for a switch‑case.