• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

String to Integer Conversion.

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator

Hi fellas!

I'm new in java programming and I really want to learn how to write a code or just simply to create any kinds of program.
The attached code is simply ask you a name of any product or good and it's quantity and also the price of each item and after that it will calculate it and show you how much the total of that particular items. But every time I run the code it gives me a wrong calculation, obviously because of the "hashcode" but the problem is I don't know the exact code to put to convert the string into an integer.

Please I need a help....

Thank you,

Marshal
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Why on earth are you using hashCode()? Do you know what hashCode does? It does not convert a String "12345" to the int 12345.
Why are you using regular expressions alongside Scanner? Scanner uses regular expressions itself, so let the Scanner do the hard work:-
int i = myScanner.nextInt();