• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Abstraction and interface

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hey guys, i'm new to Java and was reading about the fundamentals of Java and I keep coming across two things that I can't seem to understand there meaning and how they are used. Abstraction and interface. Can anyone give me a simple and straight forward meaning and instances where you would use abstraction over interface and vice versa

Sheriff
Eclipse IDE Postgres Database VI Editor Chrome Java Ubuntu
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
The lines between an Abstract class and an Interface are starting to blur a bit in Java 8, but basically, an Interface is a contract specifying the behaviour of a class. So if you want to guarantee that a class has the ability to bark, you could create an Interface:

Now if you want to communicate that a class has the ability to bark, you implement Barkable:

The really nice thing is that if you need a class that can bark -- any class -- you can specify just that it need to be Barkable:

The animal can be a dog or wolf or poodle or whatever, as long as it implements Barkable. And you know you can call the method bark() an animal.