• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Using Maven to build fat-jar library.

Bartender
IBM DB2 Netbeans IDE Spring Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm really a newbie of maven, so sorry if this question is too silly....
As far as I know maven is a very good tool for managing deployment, build, and more important - at least for me - for managing JAR dependencies. Willing to use it in Java EE projects, I made some experiments and I have to admit that I found Maven by far more complex than I would have expected. Despite the fact that "complexity" isn't a good reason to learn something , I wonder if it may be a reasonable approach to use Maven only to manage dependencies and to build fat Jars (with Maven shade plugin), so that I can include created artifacts as library in web projects.
Is there anyone that used a similar approach ? What about pro and cons ?

Thanks in advance.

Ranch Hand
Eclipse IDE Firefox Browser Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
I reckon, never I'd liked to use fat jars. Although it can be easier to deploy (and manage), it hides the current libraries you are using, and that's solved with <dependencies> in Maven.

It is not complex Maven, maybe you need to think more functional than Ant (for instance).

Saloon Keeper
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies