• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Seeking career advice

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all
My name is yousef , and I'm a php developer in the first place +2 years of exp. 24 years old , but i took the decision to migrate to java EE as it fits to my desire of making large scaled applications and it has a lot of chances with higher salaries in big companies ..
I left my job so i have more free times to do the perfect migration .
As an experinced programmer but with another language with strong experience with oop what do you advise me ?
to be more specific ,, i will list my questions ..
- Is it better to get a certification in java ? if yes , is it sufficient to take the associate level (for me) or need the professional too ?
- What kind of projects should i do on my own to include in my cv ?
- what is the best way to practice java to master the best practices like OOAD and design patterns in java , what kind of projects should i do ?
- i started with java se to learn , but when should i begin with Java EE ?
- i found alot frameworks in java EE and some of them not more used by companies , so i'm confused where to start , which one should i master first , shall i master all of them ?