• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Pyramid in Graphics Program Java

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hey guys, I'm new to Java, so a little help would be appreciated highly Anyway, I have an assignment from Stanford's lectures (I'm following lectures from YT).

Write a Graphics Program subclass that draws a pyramid consisting of bricks arranged in horizontal rows, so that the number of bricks in each row decreases by one as you move up the pyramid, as shown in the following sample run (Attachment).

The pyramid should be centered at the bottom of the window and should use constants for the following parameters:

BRICK_WIDTH The width of each brick (30 pixels)
BRICK_HEIGHT The height of each brick (12 pixels)
BRICKS_IN_BASE The number of bricks in the base (14).

This is my code, I did it as the best I could:

What I don't get is how to center that whole pyramid in Graphics Program ? I have also found the same problem with following answer(s) at StackOverFlow (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/7191450/exercise-write-a-graphics-program-that-draws-a-pyramid ; you will notice that my code is almost identical to the one offered at StackOverFlow), but I don't understand that answer, that is, I don't know how to implement that answer as a code.