• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Does the answer to this Java question about main methods make sense? (Q1-7, Mala Gupta)

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,
I am studying for the Java 7 SE Programmer I exam and I was going through practice questions. I don't seem to understand one of the options though. Here's the question:
Select the correct options:
  • You can start the execution of a Java application through the main method.
  • The Java compiler calls and executes the main method.
  • The Java Virtual Machine calls and executes the main method.
  • A class calls and executes the main method.

• the correct answers are the 1st and 3rd option. I understand the 3rd option. I don't get the first option, it's worded so weirdly. Could someone explain it to me?
    Thanks

Ranch Hand
    • Mark post as helpful
    • send pies
    One of the first things you learn in Java programming is how to run a Java program. You provide a class that has a main() method with a specific signature and then you use the java command to run the Java program.

Rancher
    Netbeans IDE Oracle MySQL Database Tomcat Server C++ Java
    • Mark post as helpful
    • send pies