• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Relearning java skills - where to start/focus?

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi,

This is my first post, I joined specifically to post this as I'm in need of advice.

I have almost 5 years experience as a developer, Java is the technology I have most experience with but unfortunately it was a few years ago and I've fallen behind. The projects I've worked on has resulted in me being a 'Jack of all trades and expert in none', I know bits and pieces of Java EE, Oracle databases, PL/SQL, Spring, .NET, Scala, linux scripts.... but not as proficient in any of them as I would like to be in this stage in my career.

I left my previous job 18 months ago for my new role where I was promised Java EE development, I was instantly put on a Scala project and haven't seen any Java code since. I am frustrated by the way things are going and feel that it is time for me to move jobs but before I do I want to start learning technologies before any interviews/new role.

I want to focus on Java EE/related technologies but it's been a while since I used them and they have all moved on somewhat. I feel that there is a mountain of stuff for me to (re)learn and it's quite daunting, I don't know where to start really.... which is why I'm posting.