• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

When to use "final"?

Ranch Hand
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi there,
I am new to Java but learning through classes and at work. At work I have been given small implementation work to help me learn. I noticed that in similar class files some developers use "final" where others do not. I think I understand the use of final is when the variable is meant to not be changed. In both examples I'm looking at the variables are just that. They aren't supposed to change. So I take it the developer who did use final is more technically correct?

Thank You!

Ranch Hand
Eclipse IDE MySQL Database Tomcat Server Java
  • Likes 1
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • final is keyword used as non- access modifier applicable for classes, methods and variables.

• final class:
  • If a class declared as final then we can’t extend that class. i.e. we can’t create child class of that class.
  • The methods of a final class are never overridden.

• final method:
  • If a method is declared as final then that final method cannot be overridden in a subclass.
  • A method can be declared final to prevent subclasses from overriding or hiding it.
  • It is a compile-time error to attempt to override or hide a final method.