• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

I need some useful tips

Greenhorn
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
I'm an all time PHP developer for more than 8 years. and after 13 days starting today, this time it's for real, I'll be starting in my next company as a java developer,
the boss there told me the technology they use is java, spring cloud,cassandra, and told me to study the mircoservices..

so right now, I'm still studying the fundamentals of java ( any particular areas in the fundamentals should I focus on heavily ? )
for the spring cloud, ( do I need to study how the spring framework work first after the java funddamentals before jumpting to spring cloud?, because they sound like two different beasts)
for the microservices ( any resources that you can share aside from telling me to google ? )
and for the cassandra , I think I have some ebooks that I've never read before, because I'm using oracle in current company

Java Cowboy
Android Scala IntelliJ IDE Spring Java
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
Cool, congratulations on the new job! And it sounds like you're going to be using some interesting new technologies.

But that is a LOT to learn, especially if you are new to Java! My advice is: Don't try to learn everything at once, because it will be completely overwhelming.