aspose file tools*
The moose likes Programmer Certification (SCJP/OCPJP) and the fly likes Thread confusion. Please elaborate on purpose of thread functionality. Big Moose Saloon
  Search | Java FAQ | Recent Topics | Flagged Topics | Hot Topics | Zero Replies
Register / Login
JavaRanch » Java Forums » Certification » Programmer Certification (SCJP/OCPJP)
Bookmark "Thread confusion. Please elaborate on purpose of thread functionality." Watch "Thread confusion. Please elaborate on purpose of thread functionality." New topic
Author

Thread confusion. Please elaborate on purpose of thread functionality.

Justen Hill
Greenhorn

Hello,

I am currently studying concurrency for java scjp exam and I have some confusion as to the underlying purpose of threads. This may be due to my background. I am hoping that someone can clear this up so that a lightbulb may become dimly light.

Currently, I code java code for a website that utilizes the Struts framework. Whenever the code is written, it is done so in a flow for a particular user. I assume that once a user hits our site, they have a session started. As they proceed through the various functionality, the session is what ties the user to the various code instances that they create. All of this runs on a weblogic application server.

We do not code with threads,....but if we were to code with threads, would the multiple threads within the application still be tied to a particular users session? I guess some of the confusion also stems from the thought that as hundreds of users are accessing the website, they are given their own threads to complete the required functionality they call, or is this just an absurb assumption on my part? It seems hard to believe that threads can be used in a web application. Can anyone shed a little light on this? Thanks.
Les Hayden
Greenhorn