File APIs for Java Developers
Manipulate DOC, XLS, PPT, PDF and many others from your application.
http://aspose.com/file-tools
The moose likes Swing / AWT / SWT and the fly likes RCP: Passing data to workbench/ Saving workbench data Big Moose Saloon
  Search | Java FAQ | Recent Topics | Flagged Topics | Hot Topics | Zero Replies
Register / Login


Win a copy of EJB 3 in Action this week in the EJB and other Java EE Technologies forum!
JavaRanch » Java Forums » Java » Swing / AWT / SWT
Bookmark "RCP: Passing data to workbench/ Saving workbench data" Watch "RCP: Passing data to workbench/ Saving workbench data" New topic
Author

RCP: Passing data to workbench/ Saving workbench data

Michael Imhof
Greenhorn

Joined: Nov 07, 2004
Posts: 24
Passing data to new workbench
------------------------------
I'm developing an RCP application using different workbench windows using

new OpenInNewWindowAction(workbenchWindow).run();

With this call, I get a new workbench window with default content (set
in my WorkbenchWindowAdvisor.preWindowOpen())
But i want to customize the content of this new workbench!!!

How can I send any data to the new workbench???
Is there a construct in the RCP framework??

Saving workbench data
---------------------
Closing the application and open again is working fine for the number of
windows and the window positions. But if I had Data A in the first workbench
window and Data B in the second workbench window, after restart this data is lost (of course!).

How can I save/restore workbench specific data?

Both problems are solved with eclipse IDE (if your open a new perspective outside of the current perspective and close the application, all the settings are restored when reopened).

Regards
Michael
 
I agree. Here's the link: http://aspose.com/file-tools
 
subject: RCP: Passing data to workbench/ Saving workbench data
 
Similar Threads
ICE Test 285 solved 100 %
Eclipse Runtime Workbench
Refreshing the Workbench!
Correct behaviour when launching a new window and getting rid of the first window
How to Avoid User to do Ctrl+N and use the same session