my dog learned polymorphism*
The moose likes Programming Diversions and the fly likes Cricket Question Big Moose Saloon
  Search | Java FAQ | Recent Topics | Flagged Topics | Hot Topics | Zero Replies
Register / Login
JavaRanch » Java Forums » Other » Programming Diversions
Bookmark "Cricket Question" Watch "Cricket Question" New topic
Author

Cricket Question

Varun Khanna
Ranch Hand

Joined: May 30, 2002
Posts: 1400
This was asked in an MBA interview (XLRI,India)
--->
A guy went to see a cricket test match,Day 1,morning session, since he was a bit late,he asked the person sitting next to him about the score,
the other person replied
1)Score is: 12/0
2)Two legal delieveries has been bowled
3)Both the batsman are on 6 runs
<---
Is this possible, if yes then how?
(though at tht time i cudn't, but later i found 2 "logical" answers)
[ June 11, 2003: Message edited by: varun Khanna ]

- Varun
Don Kiddick
Ranch Hand

Joined: Dec 12, 2002
Posts: 580
batsman 1 hits 3 of no ball
batsman 2 hits 3 of no ball
batsman 1 hits 3
batsman 2 hits 3
Anupam Sinha
Ranch Hand

Joined: Apr 13, 2003
Posts: 1088
Hi
It seems a bit tough at first, but if you think closely the answer is quite simple. Both the batsmen hit a six.
Varun Khanna
Ranch Hand

Joined: May 30, 2002
Posts: 1400
Originally posted by Don Kiddick:
batsman 1 hits 3 of no ball
batsman 2 hits 3 of no ball
batsman 1 hits 3
batsman 2 hits 3

2 no balls ... that means 2 extra runs ... so total is 14 not 12
Varun Khanna
Ranch Hand

Joined: May 30, 2002
Posts: 1400
Originally posted by Anupam Sinha:
Hi
It seems a bit tough at first, but if you think closely the answer is quite simple. Both the batsmen hit a six.

How? only one batsman can bat at a time.
Anupam Sinha
Ranch Hand

Joined: Apr 13, 2003
Posts: 1088
Hi Varun
If a batsman hits a run on a no-ball would that run be counted in the batsman's score or only one run would be added to the batsman score and the other no-ball run would be added to the team's run.
Varun Khanna
Ranch Hand

Joined: May 30, 2002
Posts: 1400
Originally posted by Anupam Sinha:
Hi Varun
If a batsman hits a run on a no-ball would that run be counted in the batsman's score or only one run would be added to the batsman score and the other no-ball run would be added to the team's run.

no ball,wide ball,bye... these are counted as extras,
Not in batsman's score !!!
Anupam Sinha
Ranch Hand

Joined: Apr 13, 2003
Posts: 1088
Hi Varun
Thanks for the prompt reply but I was aware of that but what I was asking was what if you take a run on a No-Ball would that be counted in your score or just in the team's score. I guess that having an extra is quite not possible in this scenario as this would increase the total score.
Varun Khanna
Ranch Hand

Joined: May 30, 2002
Posts: 1400
Originally posted by Anupam Sinha:
Hi Varun
Thanks for the prompt reply but I was aware of that but what I was asking was what if you take a run on a No-Ball would that be counted in your score or just in the team's score. I guess that having an extra is quite not possible in this scenario as this would increase the total score.

Run on a no ball or a wide ball will be in ur score only if u hit the ball with ur bat and the extra penalty run will be added to teams total only.
[ June 05, 2003: Message edited by: varun Khanna ]
SJ Adnams
Ranch Hand

Joined: Sep 28, 2001
Posts: 925
2)Two legal delieveries been bowled

so does that mean there have been wides?
are you ignoring extras?
Anupam Sinha
Ranch Hand

Joined: Apr 13, 2003
Posts: 1088
I was thinking the same but just wanted to be sure about this. But how can you hit a wide ball?
[ June 05, 2003: Message edited by: Anupam Sinha ]
Anupam Sinha
Ranch Hand

Joined: Apr 13, 2003
Posts: 1088
Hi Varun
Will you please post the answer now.
Anupam Sinha
Ranch Hand

Joined: Apr 13, 2003
Posts: 1088
Hi Varun
I guess that your question doesn't revolves about the retired hurt thing. If your answer involves retired hurt then there are more than 2 answers.
Varun Khanna
Ranch Hand

Joined: May 30, 2002
Posts: 1400
Okey first answer:
Bowler bowled the first bowl, batsman edged the bowl and the boll passed the wicket keeper and it hit the helmet kept on the ground (Behind wicketkeeper, mind you this happens), on hitting 5 runs are awarded to the batsman score and meantime batsman also ran one run !!!
Hence 6 runs, one ball and strike rotated !!!
next ball, other person hit six.
Solved :-)
Second solution ... hmm shall i give a hint instead? try thinking "over throw" concept !!!
Varun Khanna
Ranch Hand

Joined: May 30, 2002
Posts: 1400
Originally posted by Simon Lee:

so does that mean there have been wides?
are you ignoring extras?

Sorry, cudn't get you !!!
No not ignoring wides, jus mean two legal deleveries are bowled, so answer should satisfy this condition, wide ball is not a legal boll.
Anupam Sinha
Ranch Hand

Joined: Apr 13, 2003
Posts: 1088
Hi Varun
Yes you did solved it. Well I thought abut the helmet thing but didn't think that after hitting the helmet they can also run. Secondly same in the case of overthrow. First they run a run then the fielders hit the ball on the helmet and another 5 runs. Then the other person hits a six.
Varun Khanna
Ranch Hand

Joined: May 30, 2002
Posts: 1400
can be another if you involve the scenario of "short run" and over throw (together)...
SJ Adnams
Ranch Hand

Joined: Sep 28, 2001
Posts: 925
penalty runs go as extras (like hitting the helmet)
Linda Rowczenio
Greenhorn

Joined: Jun 11, 2003
Posts: 2
The short answer is
The first batsman hit a single off a legal delivery, but the ball hit a fielders helmet which gives him 5 total 6. The second batsman hits a six.
Longer versions can have wides no balls etc.
The important thing was the bowler would have to get both men out in the same over if he wanted to bowl again that innings.
Rules change so this currently holds it might not in future
a woman got a cricket question right
Prakash Dwivedi
Ranch Hand

Joined: Sep 28, 2002
Posts: 452
Hey here is one answer but dont laugh
say batsman A and B are playing, A on strike
ball 1:A hits six;
(A gets retired hurt: sun stroke)
C replaces A
ball 2:C hits six
(Now B gets retired hurt: sun stroke)
A replaces B(after medical treatment)
so score is 12/0
two legal deliveries balled
both batsman(A and C) on 6
thanx


Prakash Dwivedi (SCJP2, SCWCD, SCBCD)
"Failure is not when you fall down, Its only when you don't get up again"
Don Kiddick
Ranch Hand

Joined: Dec 12, 2002
Posts: 580
Hitting the helmet does not count as runs for either batsman.
The retiring one is also a bit dodgy. if a batsman retires hurt they can only return upon consent of the other team, generally at the end of the innings.
Laws Of Cricket
D.
SJ Adnams
Ranch Hand

Joined: Sep 28, 2001
Posts: 925
ok, how about this:
1st innings, batman 1 scores 6, then falls over & retires hurt. 2nd batsman scores 6, then retires hurt, rest of team are ill & retire hurt.
follow on,
both batsman that scored 6 are on the field.
so... 2 legal deliveries, is still day 1 morning session, both batsman on 6?
Don Kiddick
Ranch Hand

Joined: Dec 12, 2002
Posts: 580
except the score is 0/0 not 12/0.
How about :
Batsman 1 hits 7 but run is "one short" : scores 6
Batsman 2 hits 7 but run is "one short" : scores 6
Not likely but legal !
D.
Prakash Dwivedi
Ranch Hand

Joined: Sep 28, 2002
Posts: 452
Originally posted by Don Kiddick:

The retiring one is also a bit dodgy. if a batsman retires hurt they can only return upon consent of the other team, generally at the end of the innings.
Laws Of Cricket
D.

Here is the extract from the link u provided
9. Batsman leaving the field or retiring
A batsman may retire at any time during his innings. The umpires, before allowing play to proceed, shall be informed of the reason for a batsman retiring.
(a) If a batsman retires because of illness, injury or any other unavoidable cause, he is entitled to resume his innings subject to (c) below. If for any reason he does not do so, his innings is to be recorded as 'Retired – not out'.
(b) If a batsman retires for any reason other than as in (a) above, he may only resume his innings with the consent of the opposing captain. If for any reason he does not resume his innings it is to be recorded as 'Retired – out'.
(c) If after retiring a batsman resumes his innings, it shall be only at the fall of a wicket or the retirement of another batsman.

it clearly says consent of opposite team is not required in case of retired due to illness also he can resume whenever there is a fall of a wicket or the retirement of another batsman.
So whats dodgy?
Varun Khanna
Ranch Hand

Joined: May 30, 2002
Posts: 1400
Originally posted by Don Kiddick:
except the score is 0/0 not 12/0.
How about :
Batsman 1 hits 7 but run is "one short" : scores 6
Batsman 2 hits 7 but run is "one short" : scores 6
Not likely but legal !
D.

This seems logical to me, but the scenario i thought of was a bit more logical
first ball: batsman took 3 runs and got 4 over throws but ... out of 3 the runs, one run was short so ... strike rotated ... bastman got 6 runs(2+4) in his account and
next ball,second batsman, a six....
[ June 11, 2003: Message edited by: varun Khanna ]
 
I agree. Here's the link: http://aspose.com/file-tools
 
subject: Cricket Question