wood burning stoves*
The moose likes Meaningless Drivel and the fly likes Fun reviewing books Big Moose Saloon
  Search | Java FAQ | Recent Topics | Flagged Topics | Hot Topics | Zero Replies
Register / Login


Win a copy of Android Security Essentials Live Lessons this week in the Android forum!
JavaRanch » Java Forums » Other » Meaningless Drivel
Bookmark "Fun reviewing books" Watch "Fun reviewing books" New topic
Author

Fun reviewing books

Thomas Paul
mister krabs
Ranch Hand

Joined: May 05, 2000
Posts: 13974
Read the reviews of this book:
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0201361205


Associate Instructor - Hofstra University
Amazon Top 750 reviewer - Blog - Unresolved References - Book Review Blog
Rick Portugal
Ranch Hand

Joined: Dec 17, 2002
Posts: 243
Wow! I won't be buying the book, but I did get a chuckle out of this line in one of the reviews: "More good java than Juan Valdez".


IBM 286, SCJP, SCWCD, EIEIO
Cindy Glass
"The Hood"
Sheriff

Joined: Sep 29, 2000
Posts: 8521
LOL
"with Java code obviously fondled by God himself."
Tom - are you going to review this? Let me know if it is any good .


"JavaRanch, where the deer and the Certified play" - David O'Meara
Anonymous
Ranch Hand

Joined: Nov 22, 2008
Posts: 18944
Originally posted by Thomas Paul:
Read the reviews of this book:
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0201361205

Wonder if the author or publisher were directly involved in all these cute reviews...
Anonymous
Ranch Hand

Joined: Nov 22, 2008
Posts: 18944
I have Algorithms in C,part 5 Graph algo.Its very compact and takes a lot of time to read.So I am going to take Algo in C or C++ or Java (fundamental Algo).
Thomas Paul
mister krabs
Ranch Hand

Joined: May 05, 2000
Posts: 13974
Originally posted by <herb slocomb>:
Wonder if the author or publisher were directly involved in all these cute reviews...
I'll bet it's the students of one of the authors.
Solveig Laura Haugland
Author
Ranch Hand

Joined: Oct 24, 2000
Posts: 377
Those are fabulous. However, for the most true review of all, see the review of MS Office Developer Edition.
http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B00005BL28/qid=1043256955/sr=1-32/ref=sr_1_32/104-8664409-2047165?v=glance&s=software
No Monakeys!, June 19, 2002
Reviewer: A software user from Charleston, AR United States
No, No No! No monakeys here! Makes me Heep and scream. You see the digital dashboards--laugh in the back. Why do yo ask? Why is there why, or why equals how. That's it now! With the program, you are unstoppable. Not to forget the web power of cling. Yes Yes Yes!! Take that away though, you have monakeys with apebates. Take care of those socks.


OpenOffice.org Users' Guides, Training, and More www.getopenoffice.org
J2EE: The Big Picture - Dating Design Patterns: What the Gang of Four Didn't Tell You - Dating Power Tools: Simple Stuff That Works - She'll Love It: The Guys' Guide to Giving Great Gifts
Ellen Zhao
Ranch Hand

Joined: Sep 17, 2002
Posts: 581
What entertaining wording there!
I had a look at this book�s content table, it�s a book for beginner to data structure and algorithms. Merely according to the content table, I cannot imagine anything really as deity-like as the book reviewers said. There are some very good text books on the same topic out there too. Say: Data Structures & Algorithms in Java (Mitchell Waite Signature Series) and Data Structures and Algorithms in Java. Both of them are for beginners, the first one is more readable and the latter is written in a rigorous academic manner. The code in both books are good. Actually once people know the essence, the codes to implement the basic data structures wouldn�t be too different.
I was looking for some senior algorithms books a while ago, and found a book review saying:
Reading this book strengthens your mind; Carrying this book strengthens your body; Pay for this book, that�s what credit card made for.
Impressing review and I really purchased that book: Introduction to Algorithms, Second Editionwhich is thicker than 1100 pages. Yes, what he said is true Powerful word simply made.
[ January 22, 2003: Message edited by: Ellen Fu ]
 
wood burning stoves
 
subject: Fun reviewing books
 
Similar Threads
New bee for SCWCD
Whatcha reading?
Best book for the exam
Books for beginners
Worst Amazon Book Title Ever?