Win a copy of Design for the Mind this week in the Design forum!
  • Post Reply
  • Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic

Third Strike call

 
Mark Spritzler
ranger
Sheriff
Posts: 17278
6
IntelliJ IDE Mac Spring
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Without attacking each other, because really, it comes down to it has nothing to do with us anyway.

But what do you think of the umpire's call in Game 2 White Sox vs Angels last night?

Personally, because of the closeness of the ball and regardless of the umpire giving the closed fist out sign, I would have tagged the runner anyway, just in case. But it was a terrible call.

If I was the opposing manager, I would have said he's out, just cause I wouldn't want to win that way.

Mark
 
fred rosenberger
lowercase baba
Bartender
Pie
Posts: 12097
30
Chrome Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Can you tell me what happened? i was watching the other game...
 
Mani Ram
Ranch Hand
Posts: 1140
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
If it is a close call, why didn't the umpire use the technology & get the help from the Third Umpire?

Cricket is a funny game, isn't it?
 
Mark Fletcher
Ranch Hand
Posts: 897
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
I think it was a terrible call, and Im a Sox fan.
 
fred rosenberger
lowercase baba
Bartender
Pie
Posts: 12097
30
Chrome Java Linux
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
nevermind, i found it online.

ok, revision... found a couple more angles on it.

I'm not sure from where the plate ump was that he could tell if it was caught or trapped. i think the other umps would have been too far away to make the call.

I don't understand the plate umps logic of why he has to make the motion when the batter swings - everyone knows he swung, but i digress.

I think the ump made the wrong call on the trapped/caught, but it's understandable. the ump should have made it clearer sooner what he was ruling the pitch. the catcher made the mistake of assuming the batter was out before the ump officially declared it - isn't it his repsonsibility to MAKE SURE the batter is out before leaving the field?

In the end, it doesn't matter. what happened happened. It makes for good stories later - either the angels will rally back and this will be the moment that fired them up, or they'll loose, and this will be the moment that ended their chances - it wasn't THEIR fault. We in St. Louis have our Don Denkinger in '85 call. One local bar here has a 10'x10' picture of Worrel with the ball in his glove, foot on the bag, and Ortega's foot still about a foot or two away.

WE'RE not bitter...

;-)
[ October 13, 2005: Message edited by: fred rosenberger ]
 
John Dunn
slicker
Ranch Hand
Posts: 1108
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
If K-Rod had gotten a dang RBI, we wouldn't have had this mess!!!
 
Michael Ernest
High Plains Drifter
Sheriff
Posts: 7292
Netbeans IDE VI Editor
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Originally posted by fred rosenberger:

In the end, it doesn't matter. what happened happened. It makes for good stories later - either the angels will rally back and this will be the moment that fired them up, or they'll loose, and this will be the moment that ended their chances - it wasn't THEIR fault. We in St. Louis have our Don Denkinger in '85 call. One local bar here has a 10'x10' picture of Worrel with the ball in his glove, foot on the bag, and Ortega's foot still about a foot or two away.

Memories of Knoblauch's phantom tag...
 
Paul Bourdeaux
Ranch Hand
Posts: 783
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
It was a terrible call, but I place the blame on the catcher. You always tag the batter unless the ump calls him out. Especially when the batter begins to advance toward first. Don't roll the ball back to the mound, throw the ball to first anyway. Come on, the first thing you learn in sports is to continue to play through until the play is officially ruled over.

Usually the ump will yell "no catch" if the ball hits the dirt, but they are not required to. The fault lies with the catcher.
 
Jesse Torres
Ranch Hand
Posts: 985
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
I am a Cubs fan but wouldn�t mind seeing the Sox win. Nevertheless, good call or not, both teams have had phenomenal pitching; AMAZING! Personally, I think that it was a bad call.
 
Mark Spritzler
ranger
Sheriff
Posts: 17278
6
IntelliJ IDE Mac Spring
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Originally posted by Jesse Torres:
I am a Cubs fan but wouldn�t mind seeing the Sox win. Nevertheless, good call or not, both teams have had phenomenal pitching; AMAZING! Personally, I think that it was a bad call.


Definitely agree with the pitching. It would have been interesting to see how many extra innings the game would have lasted.

Paul, the fist sign with that motion is the yer out sign. So the umpire did call him out and that is why the catcher left the field. But as we know it is all beside the point.

Looking forward to the next bunch of games. I doubt that umpire will work this series anymore, but can you imagine the grief the Angel's fans at Anaheim stadium would give him.

That reminds me, I need to make sure I am done at the gym tomorrow and headed home before the game ends. I will have to be on the 5 freeway passing Angels stadium, and don't want to be in that traffic.

Mark
 
Paul Bourdeaux
Ranch Hand
Posts: 783
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Paul, the fist sign with that motion is the yer out sign. So the umpire did call him out and that is why the catcher left the field. But as we know it is all beside the point.

The verbal call is the oficial call. Hand signals are not official (to the best of my knowledge), and they actually differ greatly between leagues and umpires. Because the umpire did not verbally say "out" or "no catch" (in some leagues the call is "in the dirt") the play was still alive. This is something we teach little leaguers! A.J. Pierzynski recognized this and advanced to first. Josh Paul didn't... call it a long day, call it a temporarily brain lapse... and chose to roll the ball to the mound instead. He could have easily tagged A.J. or thrown him out at first.

Don't get me wrong, the umpire screwed up his mechanics. The norm is to give the safe signal and yell "no catch" if the ball is in the dirt, otherwise give the third strike signal and call him out. But I still say the ultimate blame for the loss lies with Paul.

Of course, it is all moot now anyway. Besides, next year my Twins are gonna win it all anyway... (shortly after hell freezes over )
 
Jesse Torres
Ranch Hand
Posts: 985
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
  • Quote
  • Report post to moderator
Originally posted by Paul Bourdeaux:
Paul, the fist sign with that motion is the yer out sign. So the umpire did call him out and that is why the catcher left the field. But as we know it is all beside the point.

The verbal call is the oficial call. Hand signals are not official (to the best of my knowledge), and they actually differ greatly between leagues and umpires. Because the umpire did not verbally say "out" or "no catch" (in some leagues the call is "in the dirt") the play was still alive. This is something we teach little leaguers! A.J. Pierzynski recognized this and advanced to first. Josh Paul didn't... call it a long day, call it a temporarily brain lapse... and chose to roll the ball to the mound instead. He could have easily tagged A.J. or thrown him out at first.

Don't get me wrong, the umpire screwed up his mechanics. The norm is to give the safe signal and yell "no catch" if the ball is in the dirt, otherwise give the third strike signal and call him out. But I still say the ultimate blame for the loss lies with Paul.

Of course, it is all moot now anyway. Besides, next year my Twins are gonna win it all anyway... (shortly after hell freezes over )



That is a great explanation. From that perspective, the catcher should have tagged A.J.
 
  • Post Reply
  • Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
  • New Topic