I am surprised that it works in Firefox, you must have it set to do it.
It is a security setting to keep you from destroying a person's history, removing toolbars, etc. Leave the window alone! Plus what happens if a pop up blocker would block the pop up and also close the window.
I’ve looked at a lot of different solutions, and in my humble opinion Aspose is the way to go. Here’s the link: http://aspose.com