I would like to know how I could view my partitions that I created using the Windows shrink volume on my Linux installation? Under Places menu tab on the Linux screen, I see something called New Volume and I want to know what does this mean?
I see the following,
Why do I have two of them (New Volume). Could it be that I have created two such partitions on my Windows installation??
What I actually want to acheive is that I have a 40 GB partition on which I would have my Maven Local repository and I want to make use of this same repository for both Linux and Windows. How to do this?
SCJP 1.4, SCWCD 1.4 - Hints for you, Certified Scrum Master
Did a rm -R / to find out that I lost my entire Linux installation!
First, did you format the space you freed up after doing a shrink volume?
My guess is that the two New Volume entries reflect two partitions that have already been formatted, but have not been mounted. Try running "sudo fdisk -l" from a terminal and post the results. This should tell us exactly how the disk is partitioned.
Here is what I got when I said sudo fdisk -1 at the terminal.
I have created in Windows the following partition,
C; That contains the actual partition
EISA partition, I deleted this and created a new partition out of this
D: A new 40 GB partition where I would be installing all the softwares on my machine that I intend to use.
/dev/sda1 is the Windows recovery partition. (I think that in another post you stated that you have a laptop, and laptop vendors typically use a separate partition for the files necessary to restore the laptop to the factory disk layout.)
/dev/sda2 is your C: drive in Windows
/dev/sda3 is the 40GB you freed up. It looks like you formatted it also
In Linux, under the Places menu, the "SW_Preload" entry is for /dev/sda1. The two "New Volume" entries are for /dev/sda2 and /dev/sda3. These entries will disappear if you add then to /etc/fstab so that they are mounted automatically.
By the way, if in Windows you would give a name to your C: and D: drives, those names would show up in the Places menu, instead of "New Volume".