This week's giveaway is in the Android forum.
We're giving away four copies of Android Security Essentials Live Lessons and have Godfrey Nolan on-line!
See this thread for details.
The moose likes JSF and the fly likes Thread-pooled server as application-scoped bean. Producer-Consumer Problem? Help! Big Moose Saloon
  Search | Java FAQ | Recent Topics | Flagged Topics | Hot Topics | Zero Replies
Register / Login

Win a copy of Android Security Essentials Live Lessons this week in the Android forum!
JavaRanch » Java Forums » Java » JSF
Bookmark "Thread-pooled server as application-scoped bean. Producer-Consumer Problem? Help!" Watch "Thread-pooled server as application-scoped bean. Producer-Consumer Problem? Help!" New topic
Author

Thread-pooled server as application-scoped bean. Producer-Consumer Problem? Help!

Oliver Bodenhans
Greenhorn

Hi everyone,

Since this is my first post here, let me begin by saying "hi" to everyone. I'm pretty new to JSF (actually, to Java and programming in general), so I'm having a bit of trouble with the following:

I'm trying to use a computational backend (Rserve, in case you're interested) in my Java EE application, which is supposed to handle request by clients (other beans). Information is gathered over the course
of several pages and the computation is started by pressing a commandButton on the final page. Now, it's obviously a bad idea to wait for the computations to finish before redirecting to the "results" page,
so I was thinking of generating a seperate thread for the computations, send the user back to the main page and alert him (email, popup,...) as soon as his results are processed.

I will also need a way to limit the number of concurrent computations to only a handful at a time, which probably means queueing up additional request and processing them successively.
Since all clients should be able to enqueue requests, my first impulse was to put the computation functionality into a application-scoped bean.