aspose file tools*
The moose likes Bunkhouse Porch and the fly likes Who reviews on amazon? Big Moose Saloon
  Search | Java FAQ | Recent Topics | Flagged Topics | Hot Topics | Zero Replies
Register / Login
JavaRanch » Java Forums » Books » Bunkhouse Porch
Bookmark "Who reviews on amazon?" Watch "Who reviews on amazon?" New topic
Author

Who reviews on amazon?

Thomas Paul
mister krabs
Ranch Hand

Joined: May 05, 2000
Posts: 13974
I am an addict when it comes to reviewing books on amazon (see my signature). Who else here posts reviews of books on amazon?


Associate Instructor - Hofstra University
Amazon Top 750 reviewer - Blog - Unresolved References - Book Review Blog
Frank Carver
Sheriff

Joined: Jan 07, 1999
Posts: 6920
I've put up a few, and I might spend a while going through my bookshelves to add a few more.


Read about me at frankcarver.me ~ Raspberry Alpha Omega ~ Frank's Punchbarrel Blog
Michael Ernest
High Plains Drifter
Sheriff

Joined: Oct 25, 2000
Posts: 7292

I've got 29 to date, hoping to submit about 10 in August cause I'm way backlogged.


Make visible what, without you, might perhaps never have been seen.
- Robert Bresson
Jason Menard
Sheriff

Joined: Nov 09, 2000
Posts: 6450
Anything I review here I also put on Amazon.
Frank Carver
Sheriff

Joined: Jan 07, 1999
Posts: 6920
Hmm. I've started getting a few "helpful" counts, as I can see on my Amazon reviews page. What I can't seem to find out is which of my reviews those votes were generated by.
Does anyone know how to find this out? In general, is there any way to find out how my reviews are doing, so I can try and use this feedback to improve my style?
Thomas Paul
mister krabs
Ranch Hand

Joined: May 05, 2000
Posts: 13974
Normally, it shows right next to the reivew but amazon has been having trouble with a software upgrade and that is temporarily broken. They promise that the votes are being properly recorded and that it is simply a display problem.
Jason Menard
Sheriff

Joined: Nov 09, 2000
Posts: 6450
Well, my review for "Test Driven Development: A Practical Guide" finally posted. At least I assume it did as it shows up in my reviews. Unfortunately they posted many reviews for this book at the same time, which pushed mine immediately to the second page. And to make matters worse, there is currently no link to "see all customer reviews" for that book, so all you can see are the first four that were lucky enough to make it to the front page.
Until they get themselves straightened out, it's probably not worth the effor to post reviews to Amazon.
Panagiotis Varlagas
Ranch Hand

Joined: Nov 27, 2000
Posts: 233
I have posted 4 book reviews on Amazon overall and 2 of them are for IT books ("Peopleware" and "The Rational Unified Process Made Easy"). Certainly, the number of Java and other technical books I have read dwarfs this mearge number, and I intend to do some massive reviewing in the near future, as soon as I find some time (stretched too thin at the moment).
Here is a list of books I intend to review:
Java Prog. Language (Gosling)
Java in a Nutshell (Flanagan, O' Reilly)
JMS (O' Reilly)
UML Distilled (Fowler)
Applying UML and Patterns (Larman)
Design Patterns (GoF)
The Mythical Man-Month (Brooks)
Dynamics of S/W Development (McCarthy)
to begin with
Frank Carver
Sheriff

Joined: Jan 07, 1999
Posts: 6920
Woo Hoo! I've finally got enough credibility as a reviewer to get a ranking at Amazon. Reviewer Rank: 223422. Hardly Thomas Paul, but it's a start
Ken Januski
Ranch Hand

Joined: Aug 08, 2002
Posts: 130
Well this thread got me curious. So I checked to see what if my one review, of Sibley's Birding Basics, was enough to get me a ranking. Yes! Number 81000. Hmm, well I guess I still have a ways to go.
I am thinking of reviewing Learning Perl Objects, References & Modules. And maybe eventually some Java-related books.
Andres Gonzalez
Ranch Hand

Joined: Nov 27, 2001
Posts: 1561
Originally posted by Ken Januski:
Well this thread got me curious. So I checked to see what if my one review, of Sibley's Birding Basics, was enough to get me a ranking. Yes! Number 81000. Hmm, well I guess I still have a ways to go.
I am thinking of reviewing Learning Perl Objects, References & Modules. And maybe eventually some Java-related books.

How do you guys check that? is there a link or something?


I'm not going to be a Rock Star. I'm going to be a LEGEND! --Freddie Mercury
Ken Januski
Ranch Hand

Joined: Aug 08, 2002
Posts: 130
I'm not sure how others did it, and I'd never done it until reading this thread, but what I did was go to the one book I'd reviewed. When I found my entry I then clicked on the "xxx xxx (see more about me)" link. That had my ranking at the top of the page and my one review below it. If you've done more reviews then I think that there all supposed to be there.
But as I said I never knew anything about this until I read this thread this afternoon and started exploring. So I'm certainly not an expert on it.
Thomas Paul
mister krabs
Ranch Hand

Joined: May 05, 2000
Posts: 13974
Originally posted by Andres Gonzalez:

How do you guys check that? is there a link or something?

If you write a review then you get an "about me" page.
Andres Gonzalez
Ranch Hand

Joined: Nov 27, 2001
Posts: 1561
Originally posted by Thomas Paul:

If you write a review then you get an "about me" page.

I did that... .. I'll look again
Andres Gonzalez
Ranch Hand

Joined: Nov 27, 2001
Posts: 1561
If you'd like to know when your review will be posted--In general, reviews are posted on our site within five days, but occasionally it takes longer. If your review has not appeared online and you'd like to know why, send an e-mail to community-help@amazon.com.

This is probably the reason... i'll have to wait then..
Panagiotis Varlagas
Ranch Hand

Joined: Nov 27, 2000
Posts: 233
I've got the same reviewer rank as Frank does: 223422
Seems like loads of people have this same rank. Apparently, a lot of us are tied at a very low score...
[ September 01, 2003: Message edited by: Panagiotis Varlagas ]
 
It is sorta covered in the JavaRanch Style Guide.
 
subject: Who reviews on amazon?