• Post Reply Bookmark Topic Watch Topic
programming forums Java Mobile Certification Databases Caching Books Engineering Micro Controllers OS Languages Paradigms IDEs Build Tools Frameworks Application Servers Open Source This Site Careers Other Pie Elite all forums
this forum made possible by our volunteer staff, including ...
Marshals:
  • Campbell Ritchie
  • Jeanne Boyarsky
  • Ron McLeod
  • Paul Clapham
  • Liutauras Vilda
Sheriffs:
  • paul wheaton
  • Rob Spoor
  • Devaka Cooray
Saloon Keepers:
  • Stephan van Hulst
  • Tim Holloway
  • Carey Brown
  • Frits Walraven
  • Tim Moores
Bartenders:
  • Mikalai Zaikin

Passing a class type variable to a method - in need of clarification

Rancher
  • Mark post as helpful
  • send pies
    Number of slices to send:
    Optional 'thank-you' note:
  • Report post to moderator
Hi all,

I am new to Coderanch, and a 3 month beginner with Java.

I need a little clarification. The top code is class Point. It is used to calculate the distance between two points.  On line 24 I created a method distance(Point secondPoint) so that I could call this method from my main method which is presented below the class Point.  Since originally I only had the no-parameter distance() and the 2 parameter distance(int x, int y) methods. My code worked fine when I called the 2 parameter distance method by plugging in the values when creating the objects first and second, and even updating them with setx() and setY(). But, when I wanted to calculate the distance between first and second  using the first.distance(second) call IntelliJ gave me an error, but thankfully with a suggestion -  "create method 'distance' in 'Point'". So I did, and got it to work.  

From my point of view, what I am doing on line 24 is creating a variable named secondPoint of type Point (a class variable) that can be anything that I want, and in this case a reference to another point. Am I correct in this assumption?